Delicata Squash Bread

...kind of like pumpkin bread...

I’m sure by now you are aware that I have a preposterous amount of all different types of squash in my house. I lay in bed sometimes wondering what I could possibly do with it all. One of my more clever ideas was to make squash bread. I figured, hey, if pumpkin bread is so delicious, why wouldn’t delicata squash bread be as well? Granted, it doesn’t roll off the tongue as nicely, but I can assure you it tastes just as good. I started by baking my squash for an hour at 350 degrees. You actually only need one medium sized delicata squash, but I baked a second for good measure (and now I need to figure out what to do with it….).

this is a familiar scene for me

Here is the recipe:

1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon sugar
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. sea salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon (or more, to taste)
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cloves
1 cup cooked, mashed delicata squash
2 substitute eggs (I used cornstarch and water)
1/4 cup Earth balance, melted

With the oven still at 350, I placed the batter in a greased bread pan an let it bake for 60 minutes. See, pretty damn simple.

I would say that delicata squash bread is just as great as pumpkin bread, and that pumpkin bread has unfairly stolen all of the attention. All the wonderful tastes of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves are still present, along with the light and sweet aftertaste of squash. The bread really turned out to be a nice color, and was not too moist or dry. I would totally make it again, and probably will seeing as how much squash I still have left!

1 Comment »

  1. Sarah P Said:

    Delicata squash is my favorite squash–I will definitely save this recipe!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

