Fronch Toast. Oh, do I love breakfast

Fronch Toast and Scrambled Tofu, the real breakfast of champions

Yeah, I know, the couple of days of Vegan MoFo I am spending talking about breakfast foods. Is that any surprise??

Well, I have found the french toast recipe that I will be sticking with from now on. It’s the “fronch” toast recipe from Vegan with a Vengeance. It is breakfast food and dessert all rolled into one. Really though, this french toast has the perfect texture and taste, is not too soggy and doesn’t burn easily. The bread crisps up very nicely, and it even has a faint taste of fried dough. I am in love with this recipe. While it may not be the most healthy thing ever, who really cares sometimes?

  • Loaf of French or Italian bag, baguette shaped, stale (I couldn’t find a baguette to my liking so bought a loaf of thin, regular french bread, and then toasted it prior to making the french toast)
  • 1/2 cup soy creamer (or rice or soy milk) I used Silk’s vanilla soy creamer
  • 1/2 cup plain rice or soy milk
  • 2 tablespoons corn starch
  • 1/4 cup chickpea flour
  • several tablespoons canola or vegetable oil

Begin by slicing the bread into 1-inch thick slices, and then toast them if they are not already stale (I will say though, Vegan with a Vengeance says NOT to toast them, but instead to place them in the oven at 350 degrees for 3-4 minutes. I did toast them, however, and they turned out fine).

Put the soy creamer and milk into a wide, shallow bowl (you will dipping the bread into this). Add in the corn starch and stir until it is completely dissolved. At this point, I added some cinnamon to the mixture as well, I really love it on my french toast (and in general). Then, add the chickpea flour and mix until it is all absorbed.

Heat up your skillet and add enough oil to create a layer on the bottom. This should take about a tablespoon of oil. Then, soak the bread in the mixture and place on the skillet. Cook each side for 2 minutes (resist flipping them before this!!), and then flip. They should be golden brown and gorgeous.

These were great without the maple syrup even

I served it with some leftover scrambled tofu and they went perfectly together. It is one of the best breakfasts ever. While I made half of the loaf all at one time, I really had to restrain myself from eating all the pieces. In total I had 4 slices in one sitting which is kind of ridiculous, but what can I say, it is so good. Plus, think of all the cholesterol I’m saving myself from!

1 Comment »

  1. Nicole Said:

    YUMMY!!! That is such a good recipe!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

