Archive for November 4, 2010

Greek Tofu Benedict and Diner Home Fries

Roasted Red Peppers - I should make them more...

I know what you are thinking. Another breakfast post? Again!? Yes. Believe it. The Veganomicon has yet to let me down. After work the other night I was actually in the mood to cook, but definitely wanted breakfast-ish food. I always want breakfast food, so that’s no surprise. In digging through both the fridge and my recipe books, I knew I have everything to make the Greek Tofu Benedict and Diner Home fries, along with Dill-Tahini dressing leftover that I had previously slathered all over kale. These are two things you definitely NEED to make from this book.

This was the first time I roasted my own red peppers and broiled my own tofu (or even used the broiler for that matter. I was always somewhat scared of it for whatever reason. I think I have childhood memories of my mom frying steak to a crisp in it – scary on multiple levels). Roasting your own red peppers is amazing. They smell great and they just feel and taste more authentic. It’s great to have them still warm from the oven when you go to eat them as well. It takes some time but it is totally worth it.

The combination of the tofu, roasted red peppers, dill-tahini dressing and Gimmie Lean Sausage is to die for. It looks nice all stacked up, and they compliment each other better than you would ever believe. It is impressive looking and colorful, and others would think you put a lot more effort into it than you really did. I think it would be really good in sandwich form as well, if you really wanted to mix it up a bit, perhaps with a couple of avocado slices as well. And let’s not forget about the diner home fries as well. Ridiculously simple to make, they are so good, and really taste like something you would get at any good breakfast place.  I liked the colors of the roasted red pepper from the tofu benedict next to the green peppers in the home fries too. Would I make this again? In a heartbeat!

Make this!