Stuffed Shells staring tofu ricotta

 

An extremely convincing fake ricotta

 

I’ve wanted stuffed shells for a really long time. Being vegan for almost a year now, I haven’t had any since before I made the transition. In my mind, I never thought that there would be a good substitute for ricotta cheese. This was before I bought the Veganomicon and made the tofu ricotta recipe, which is fast and ridiculously easy.

Tofu Ricotta:

  • 1 pound extra-firm tofu
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • pinch of black pepper
  • handful of fresh basil leaves, finely chopped
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast

The first thing you want to do is break apart the tofu until it’s crumbly. Then, add the garlic, salt, pepper, basil, and lemon juice. Mush the tofu again until it reaches the consistency of ricotta cheese (it really will look like it too!). Then add in the olive oil and nutritional yeast.

After I made up the tofu ricotta, which took maybe ten minutes at the longest, I cooked up half a package of Gimmie Lean sausage, crumbled it up, and mixed it into the tofu ricotta. As it turns out, this was an awesome decision because it tasted fantastic in the stuffed shells. While the sausage was cooking, I prepared my pasta (a prepared a whole box – I wanted a lot of leftovers so I didn’t have to cook after long work days if I didn’t feel like it), and when it had cooled I stuffed them with the tofu ricotta/sausage filling.

 

Even naked, they look tasty

 

I placed them in a casserole pan with a very thin layer of water on the bottom (to prevent drying out/hardening of the pasta) and covered them in spaghetti sauce. I placed them in the oven at 350 degrees and let them bake for around 25 minutes.

 

All lined up!

 

They were so good! There was enough to feed a small army, and I ended up having six meals from it, which is great, seeing as how it was quick, easy, and fairly cheap to make. The sausage really played well into the filling and added a great flavor to the stuffed shells. I really, really adore this recipe and would make it again (except not too soon – I don’t want to wear myself out on them!).

 

Devourment.

 

Leave a Reply

