Cheating…

They look delicious for being cheater cupcakes

I cheated with these. They came from a box. A box of Duncan Hines vanilla cake mix to be exact (surprisingly vegan!). And they were every bit of delicious as they would have been had I made them by scratch. I substituted cornstarch and water for the egg it called for, and instead of oil used applesauce, simply to make the cupcakes more healthy. As it turned out, it also added a wonderful hint of apple-ly taste to the cupcakes as well. They were beyond delicious, and incredibly light and fluffy.

The frosting – also not homemade sadly. I used Duncan Hines chocolate frosting (I love you DH), because a simple vanilla cake and chocolate frosting go so perfectly together. I actually ended up bringing these to party and everyone loved them! They got tons of compliments, which was great. If I ever needed to cheat at cupcakes again, I would totally turn to these.

Leave a Reply

