Orange Pan-glazed Tempeh

I love tempeh. I know I said it before, but I really wish it was used more. When I found this recipe for Orange pan-glazed tempeh I was excited – I had all the ingredients, and the recipe called for orange juice and maple syrup, which are two of my favorite things, especially together.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 cup freshly squeezed orange juice (3-4 large juicy oranges)
  • 1 tablespoon freshly grated ginger
  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons mirin
  • 2 teaspoons maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 2 small garlic cloves, crushed
  • roughly 10 ounces of tempeh (or extra-firm tofu)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 lime (I used the lime juice equivalent)
  • a handful of cilantro leaves
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 2 carrots, diced

First, combine the orange juice and grated ginger into a bowl. The original recipe said to squeeze the juices from the ginger and discard the pulp, but I threw it all in because I really like the taste of ginger. To this, add the soy sauce, mirin, maple syrup, ground coriander and garlic. Mix it all together and set it aside for now.

I crumbled the tempeh up rather than cutting it into neat little triangles, and placed it into the pan with the olive oil, frying it until it turned golden brown, for approximately 12 minutes. Then, pour the glaze over the pan and let it simmer for 10 minutes, letting the sauce thicken.

I served the tempeh with some sauteed carrots and green peppers, because carrots always go well with orange juice and maple syrup.

It was delicious! I swear, orange juice and maple syrup were made for each other. I’m really happy I added carrots to the mix because I think the went really well with the glaze. This was a perfect dish on its own, but I could also see serving it with rice or quinoa also!

Leave a Reply

