The first of many pancake entries

good morning!

I woke up one Wednesday morning and didn’t have work until noon, giving me the perfect amount of time to throw together a batch of pancakes, especially since I know they will keep my full (usually) all the way through my shift. I was looking to make relatively healthy ones as well, rather than just a pile of carbohydrate, white flour, no-nutrition pancakes. I admit, when I am looking for something super quick and easy, I will pull out a box of Bisquick, mix in some soy milk, cornstarch, cinnamon and lemon juice, and cook myself up some pancakes. Knowing I had a large bag of whole wheat flour on hand, as well as a handful of frozen blueberries, I knew I could make something tasty.

I found this recipe, tailored it slightly, and made my own:

  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp applesauce
  • 1  cup almond milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • handful of frozen blueberries

I didn’t want to discolor the pancakes, so i didn’t add the blueberries until the pancake mix was already on the griddle. They turned out to be delicious! They were very hearty and filling, more so than non-whole wheat pancakes in my opinion. They were only slightly more chewy and a little more dense, but I thought that made them into really good pancakes. I even ate half of them without maple syrup – the cinnamon, lemon juice and blueberries made it flavorful enough without it.

The leftover pancakes I did what I normally do – saved them for when I got out of work and then made peanut butter and jelly pancake-wiches with them. Never underestimate how awesome that is!

Leave a Reply

